National Malleefowl Recovery Group

About us

The role of the National Malleefowl Recovery Team is to implement actions from the National Malleefowl Recovery Plan.

The Malleefowl is listed nationally as Vulnerable and for every threatened species in Australia (listed in the EPBC Act) there is a Recovery Plan. The Recovery Plan sets out all of the actions necessary to stop the decline of, and support the recovery of Malleefowl and aims to maximise the long term survival in the wild of the species. 

The National Malleefowl Recovery Team has members representing a wide range of interests. This includes farmers, scientists, community groups and government agencies. There are members from ACT, New South Wales, South Australia, Victoria and Western Australia.

Current membership (January 2017)



David Kellett (Chairperson)

Riverina LLS (NSW)

Lisa Barnsworth

Joe Benshemesh

Laurence Berry

Commonwealth Department of Environment (ACT)

Consultant/Advisor (Vic)


Peter Copley

Department of Environment, Water and Natural Resources (SA)

Stephen Davies

Curtin University (WA)

Melanie Bannerman

Office of Environment & Heritage, Dubbo National Parks Office (NSW)

Chris Hedger

Department of Environment, Water and Natural Resources, Murraylands (SA)

Victor Hurley

Department of Environment, Land, Water and Planning (Vic)

Sharon Gillam

Department of Environment, Water (SA)

Milton Lewis

Community representative (NSW)

Joy McGilvray

Community Representative (WA)



Manda Page

WA Department of Parks & Wildlife (WA)

Blair Parsons

Simon Nally

Greening Australia (WA)

Commonwealth Department of Environment (ACT)

Darren Southwell

University of Melbourne (Vic)



Ross McFarlane

Victorian Malleefowl Recovery Group (Vic)

Graeme Tonkin

 Community representative (SA)

Tim Burnard is the National Malleefowl Recovery Program Coordinator

Liz Kington is WA Project Officer